A Reflection and Solicitation

In light of the new year, I thought I would reflect on this year past….

Really, I feel like a new year began in September, as there was a significant shift in not only my life but my outlook on life as well. This, as you know, is when I came to Thailand. I cannot stress to you how amazing this experience has been for me, only that it is something that I recommend every person do. Traveling has been the best thing that has ever happened to me. I was so fortunate to have the opportunity to be able to visit many different countries growing up, but never had I ever dreamed of moving to another country–let alone a third world country. Honestly, the decision to move to Thailand was rash and without thought: I had a void in my life that I needed to fill. I wasn’t wanting to fill that space with people or things, I wanted to fill it with myself, knowledge and experiences. Nevertheless, I ended up in Thailand and my life has been incredible ever since. I’ve learned so much about who I am since coming here, and I’m much more independent than I ever thought I would or could be. The possibilities are endless, and I can finally see that. Before this adventure, I was unsure of my identity and what I wanted to do with my life. Now, I know who I am, and while I still have no clue what I want to do with my life, I find it freeing and exciting! I can finally wait until last minute to go on trips and not be stressed out in not planning things. My life is the most lax it has ever been. It’s great.

This post really focused on September 2011-Now, but what happened in that time frame would not have occurred without January 2011-August 2011. Everything in life happens for a reason. That said, life doesn’t just come to you. You have to go out and get it. If you have the opportunity, go somewhere. For a month, a year, an unknown length of time…. If you want to study, backpack, teach English, or live abroad, you should! I highly recommend it. You don’t have to go to a third world country if you like all the comforts of home, but I will say I do have most western amenities in my apartment…. Just do it for yourself. Believe me, you will thank yourself later.

——

Dear 2012 (aka 2555),
On average, 2011 set the bar extremely high. I hope you’re up to the challenge!
Love,
Lindsey in Thailand from the future year of the almost past 2554

 

 

One year ago today (12/29/10)

Today (12/29/11)

2 thoughts on “A Reflection and Solicitation

  1. Lindsey, I love your enthusiasm for life. Grab it with both hands and hang on for the ride. I don’t think any of the family understands why we moved to Ireland. It is certainly more expensive to live here and it has had it’s challenges. And while I miss Texas and the family very much, I don’t think I would trade the experiences we have had and continue to have here. The people we have met and the friends we have made are incredible. I’m happier in this church than I have been in a long time. And the places we’ve gone and the things we’ve seen are beyond what I ever expected in my life. It’s been a long road from that poor little girl in Riverside to living in Ireland. So enjoy everything life has to offer. Some experiences won’t be so pleasant, you have to take the bad with the good. But the world is open to you, enjoy it all. Love you, Aunt Cheryl

  2. What great insight!! You have greater self knowledge than most people ever acquire in their lifetimes. God bless and keep you safe!
    Love, Mia

Leave a Reply

