Ko Phi Phi

Yesterday we took a day trip to the Phi Phi Islands. There are six of these islands, and they are some of the most beautiful and touristy places I have ever seen. I had been diving in the Andaman Sea before, so I knew how blue and clear to expect the water to be, but I had forgotten the weightlessness you feel when you’re floating on the water and looking down at the bottom of the ocean. It is simply breathtaking.

The tourists weren’t too terrible. There were a lot, though. Much more than I had expected. But, who can resist visiting the same beach Leonardo DiCaprio was on when filming The Beach!? The picture shown here is of the location where he jumped into the water. I think the Thai people are very proud when a movie is made in their country, because our boat guide was all about the details on The Beach. We also visited the site where the actual “beach” in the movie was. If you’ve ever seen the movie, it looks like it’s a closed off area that is secluded, but it is actually a half moon shape and they just used camera angles to make it look isolated. I would love to be the person who goes out and finds sites for movies to be made…

In addition to seeing where The Beach was filmed, we also hung out with monkeys and snorkeled. Like I said earlier, the water was crystal clear and you could see everything! I can’t wait to go diving here again. Snorkeling is ok, but if I have to option to dive, I’d rather do that, for sure!

Minus my terrible seasickness, it was a great trip!

 

 

And now, I’d like to introduce you to my friend Murph:

There are so many stray dogs here, but they are all just so friendly! This guy hangs out with me every time I go to the beach, which is practically everyday! He’s a real sweetheart… I wish I could keep him…

Well, it’s Sunday, and I have to work on lesson plans for tomorrow. I have to present the different weather types to a simulated group of young learners. So I’m going to relax a bit today, maybe go to the store later to get some snacks…. I miss y’all!

2 thoughts on “Ko Phi Phi

  1. I love Murph. Very laid back cool pup.Just be careful around all those strays and don’t get bit. This is such a wonderful experience for you; I hope you enjoy every single minute of it. And I know you’ll find lots of great buys in the markets. Enjoy!!

  2. I know you must be loving most every minute of your time there. I am so glad you are getting this wonderful, memorable experience. What a great blessing it is for you to be able to help others in big/small, meaningful ways. Your students will always remember you and what you taught them. Wish more young adults could experience such an opportunity. Love, Mia

Leave a Reply

