The Long and Winding Road

Well, I made it! To Texas, that is…

The last 36 hours of my life are somewhat a blur. Remember those old racing video games? The ones with poor graphics and the repetitive scenery? That’s what driving I-20 is like once you hit Louisiana. You just have road in front of you…. Straight, long road. And the view doesn’t change. You get the occasional jerk tailing someone, might see some roadkill, quite possibly an unfortunate soul who has been pulled over… But, mostly, it’s the same five-mile stretch on repeat. Boring.

There were, though, a couple interesting things I saw. Like the 18-wheeler next to me having his front tire blow out, thus causing the front of his truck to be shredded by the asphalt… Or the 18-wheeler that was upside down on the side of the road. These two incidents, along with my potent hatred for long car rides by myself, can be added to my list: “Why I Never Want To Be A Truck Driver.”

Once I crossed the Texas State Line, I noticed the air was dark and ominous. I’m not kidding, nor am I exaggerating. For the first 90 minutes of my drive, it was like God had left a smoke machine on. Because of the numerous wildfires, it was impossible to see more than a mile ahead, and many miles of land had been burned and black. Pictures and video don’t even begin to describe it. I only hope people made it to safety.

Now, I have a full week ahead of me. Between unpacking my car, packing for my trip, and spending quality time with family, I know this week will fly by.

 

In one week, I’ll be leaving! Once I begin my journey, I expect to update much more frequently. I will actually have interesting stuff to talk about! So,  KEEP IN TOUCH and thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “The Long and Winding Road

  1. Dude, we saw a truck blowout a tire too on our way to Cali. He kept driving for like a half mile on the rim sending sparks everywhere and lighting a couple small fires in the grass along the side of the road. That was in New Mexico I think though. Nothing to do with the Texas fires. That stuff’s on a whole other level.

  2. Wow, I bet that was kind of scary having an 18-wheeler right next to you blow a tire. That’s the kind of thing that causes bad accidents. Glad you made it safely to Texas. Just know that our prayers for your safety go with you as you begin your journey to Thailand. Hope you enjoy every minute of your time there. What an amazing adventure you are embarking on. Best wishes, good luck and God bless.

Leave a Reply

