The Countdown

I’ve thought long and hard about a proper name for this blog. “Welcome to the InterWebb” was a front-runner, but another play-on-words title prevailed. I find “All Thai’d Up” is a universal expression of how I want my trip to be. This title can be read in so many ways, but I hope every aspect of my trip is non-American, busy, adventurous, fun… I want to be immersed deeply in a different culture, busy (or ‘tied-up’) doing things I would not normally do at home. This is definitely a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and I expect to live it to the fullest.

There is one month left until I leave for Thailand. This is both an exciting and nerve-racking revelation. Though the last minute preparations have yet to begin, I’m hoping they are hardly ‘last minute.’ As I said in my previous post, I’ve been working on a list of things I’ll be bringing with me. Despite my efforts to trim my two-plus pages list, I’ve only managed to add to it. I know I’ll probably get to Thailand and say, “Well, this was unnecessary,” but, I’d much rather be over-prepared. That said, I will, at some point, put a list of “essentials” on this blog… for any of you considering spending any length of time as an ex-pat.

For now, the only major things I need to do before I go include:

  • Get a Visa
  • Drive to Texas
  • Get a haircut
  • Get a power-adapter

And yes… a haircut before I leave for six months is quite essential.

I’m sure I’ll post at least once more before I leave, so STAY TUNED.

Leave a Reply

